The Fruit of the Spirit is…MEEKNESS (Part 2)

15 Jul

More about meekness! It’s taking me awhile to get through this study, but I am thoroughly enjoying all that I have gleaned from God’s Word about these fruits I hadn’t  given much thought to before. It seems like there are certain passages of Scripture that we simply commit to memory as children and never take it any further! I’m not saying Scripture memorization is a bad thing by any means! I desire to commit much more to memory than I presently know, but I just think sometimes the familiar loses some of it’s splendor after we’ve known it for awhile. I never knew there was so much packed into these 2 verses about the fruit of the Spirit!

I was studying in 2 Peter and found so much to be thankful for! You know, if we’re not careful, we can spend so much time focused on what we don’t have that we miss how much we DO have! I have found His promises to be “exceeding great and precious” today! (2 Peter 1:4) I know I say it often, but I love when He makes connections in His Word for me! The Lord revealed much from 2 Peter in connection with my study of meekness.

I believe that meekness or humility goes hand in hand with a teachable spirit. It’s the meek and humble that recognize their need to be taught. The dictionary’s definition of humility is the modest opinion or estimate of one’s own importance, rank. When we have the right view of ourselves in relation to our Lord, we recognize that we are helpless apart from Him thus desiring to be taught!

chalkboardAs Peter is writing this book, he uses the phrases, “to put you always in remembrance,” “to stir you up by putting you in remembrance,” “to have these things always in remembrance,” over and over again. (ch. 1 verses 12,13,15) I believe he understood the danger of thinking that we know all we need to know. As Christians who have been saved for a long period of time, the temptation of feeling like we’ve arrived or that we’ve been there done that is a reality. The devil loves a prideful Christian who has decided they no longer need to be taught. Our Lord on the other hand put pride first on the list of things that He hates! (Prov. 6:16-17)

We need meekness in order to receive the same Truth over and over again realizing that we are constantly in need of it. Peter didn’t doubt that his audience already knew the things about which he was writing, in fact, he acknowledged that they did. He said, “I will not be negiligent to put you always in remembrance of these things, THOUGH YE KNOW THEM, and BE ESTABLISHED in the present truth.”(1 Peter 1:12) They didn’t just know them, they were established in them, but Peter understood their need to be reminded.

We must realize that we never arrive, that there will never be a point where we can say “I’ve made it! I’m all I need to be for the Lord!” this side of Heaven. We are fleshly beings that still fight the flesh on a daily basis. We are ever in need of continued growth in our Lord. Peter uses a present tense verb in the last verse of his manuscript. I believe he does so in order for us to realize we will never be fully grown up to the level where we can cease to grow. He says, “But GROW  in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” It is to be a continual thing!

We must allow the Lord to cultivate the fruit of meekness in our hearts in order for other growth to take place. It is only after in meekness we’ve recognized our need to be taught, our inability to do it on our own, that we will be at a place where the Master Gardener can begin to “grow (us) up into Him!” (Eph. 4:15)

May I always have a meek and teachable spirit! 🙂

“The meek will he guide in judgment: and the meek will he teach his way.” Psalm 25:9

Leave a Reply

