The Fruit of the Spirit is…MEEKNESS

13 Jul

I promised to resume my posting on the fruit of the Spirit today, and since it’s 11:28 I figured I should make good on my promise! 🙂

“The fruit of the Spirit is…meekness…” Galatians 5:23

lambThe first thing that came to mind when I began to think about meekness was the meekness of my Savior as He received punishment for sin that didn’t belong to Him. I picture Him as a lamb before the shearer quietly bearing the reproach He didn’t deserve yet was willing to take. I picture my Lord bruised and beaten yet reviling not again to do harm to the soldiers that inflicted such torment upon His Sinless Being.

 I praise Him for choosing not to hold my many trespasses against me. The haughty would bring up my past mistakes and pat himself on the back for taking a place that he didn’t deserve, but the Humble has never once held my past sin against me or demanded that I recognize the Price He paid. He simply paid the ransom I never could have paid asking only for my heart in return. Though the payment for that ransom was death, He paid the bill and signed the pardon.

Gaze upon this scene for a moment,

“He was oppressed, and He was afflicted, yet He opened not His mouth: He is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so He openeth not His mouth.”

Isaiah 53:7

Meekness is the ability to do what is needful without the need for recognition. Meekness is the ability to say nothing though self says that there is much that needs to be said. Meekness realizes that we are but mere men and points others to the glory of a Humble Savior that quietly bore the burden of Sin that was crushing any hope we had for a meaningful today or for an Eternity in Heaven.

The Bible tells us that a “meek and quiet spirit” is “in the Sight of God of GREAT PRICE!” (1 Peter 3:4) Oh that He would cultivate the fruit of meekness in my life that I could be of value to His Kingdom! 🙂

Leave a Reply

