Preserved…

28 Jun

It is 12:24 AM and I had to get up out of bed to post this! I love my Lord! He just spoke to my fearful and anxious heart with the sweetness of His Spirit and the perfect timing of His Word! 🙂

Just minutes ago, as I prepared for bed, I prayed for assurance and strength. The prayer was simple, but the answer was powerful! It’s a prayer I pray often when seeking for guidance and help. “I need you, Lord!” is what I cried out to my Heavenly Father who is awake and awaiting my cries even in the midnight hour! 🙂 I am assured tonight with everything in me that He heard and answered my prayer.

I have a fear, and although fear is often considered a bad thing, I believe this is a healthy fear! (If there is a such!) I am afraid of missing God’s will for my life! Not because I think He’ll punish me for failing Him, but rather I don’t want to miss a single thing that His perfect plan has in store for me! I desire to be EXACTLY where He wants me because I know He is going to do “EXCEEDING ABUNDANTLY ABOVE ALL THAT I ASK OR THINK”when I’m in His will! (Eph. 3:20)

But sometimes the devil likes to take my fear and turn it into a paralyzing feeling of uncertainty and doubt. It’s then that the ‘healthy’ fear isn’t so healthy! Today was one of those times so tonight I went to my Father for help, and help He did!

I love it when He reaffirms things for me in His Word. At prayer meeting Wednesday night, the message was on God’s guidance in our lives as referred to in Psalm 32. I was so blessed by the message then, but tonight as I “happened” to open my Bible to the very same Psalm I received an even greater blessing! (A blessing that’s keeping me up when I should be sleeping! :))

The page wasn’t marked, but “somehow” I opened right to this Psalm that gave me strength 4 nights ago! Verses 7 and 8 brought such comfort and peace!

 “Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt PRESERVE me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah. I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.”

jamMy Lord won’t let me miss His will! He promises to “PRESERVE me from trouble!” The word “PRESERVE” means to guard, in a good sense (to protect, maintain, obey, etc.)! He will guard me from the dangers of a life lived for self  if I seek Him! This doesn’t mean that life will be trouble and trial free! In fact Jesus promised “in this world ye SHALL have tribulation!”(John 16:33) Life will not lack its valleys, but the Good Shepherd promised to guide me and guard me through them! I don’t have to worry about missing His will! I only have to be concerned about serving Him to the best of my ability because He promised to take care of the rest! 🙂

A verse in the previous Psalm confirmed His promise,

“for the Lord PRESERVETH the faithful!” (Psalm 31:23)

Just as my grandmothers preserve fruit in the form of jellies and jams each year, my Lord promises to “PRESERVE”me! The sweet taste of my Mamal’s and Mom Mom’s  jelly can only be enjoyed because they’ve taken the time to preserve it! I have His Word that He will “preserve me'” so that I can enjoy the sweet certainty of knowing I am in His will!

I praise my Lord for His promise of preservation! 🙂

*I don’t think it’s a coincidence that this post happens to be right in the middle of my study of the fruit of the Spirit! My God is so very good! :)*

Leave a Reply

