The Fruit of the Spirit is…JOY

17 Jun

The fruit of the Spirit is…JOY! Galatians 5:22

This fruit has become dear to my heart over the last 7 months. As I mentioned previously in my May 30th post, the Lord has been teaching me what it means to joy in the journey on a daily basis. He’s been teaching me that being joyful is a choice that I must make. Joy is not happiness because happiness is dependent upon circumstances. If I desire the fruit of joy in my life, I must look to Christ instead of at the ever changing circumstances! My favorite verse about joy being James 1:2 has literally transformed the way I look at life and what it brings! 🙂 The circumstance doesn’t (or shouldn’t!) determine whether or not joy is present in my life! I actually have this reminder of JOY hanging above my closet to remind me that I must deliberately choose to allow Him to cultivate the fruit of joy in my heart every day! joy

I learned much about joy today in my study! First, the word JOY in the New Testament is from the Greek word “chara'” meaning cheerfulness, gladness, or calm delight! I was so blessed as I discovered the many applications of joy in Scripture! Here are a “few” of those…

* JOY is found in God’s presence! (Psalm 16:11)

* JOY is God Himself! (Psalm 43:4)

* God desires to turn our mourning into JOY! (Isaiah 65:19)

* Jesus desires that our “JOY might be full!” (John 15:11)

* No man can take our JOY because our JOY is Jesus, Himself! (John 16:22)

* We can be filled with JOY by believing! (Romans 15:13)

* We should pray with JOY expecting an answer! (Philippians 1:4)

* As Christians, we should JOY in the spiritual success of fellow believers! (2 Corinthians 7:13)

* We should exhibit JOY even in “great trials of affliction” (2 Corinthians 8:2) because it’s through them that them His glory is revealed! (1 Peter 4:13)

* We can “rejoice with JOY unspeakable and full of glory” in Jesus though we haven’t seen Him face to face…yet! (1 Peter 1:8)

*And my personal favorite… we are to “count it ALL JOY” regardless of what we’re facing because it’s a putting to proof of Who we have dwelling within! (James 1:2)

* One day when we stand faultless before the Throne because of “Him that (was) able to keep (us) from falling”we’ll stand with “EXCEEDING JOY!” (Jude 1:24)

I also found many Bible characters that exhibited JOY in varying circumstances. Here are a “few” of those…

* David desired his JOY restored after his failure with Bathsheba. (Psalm 51:12)

* The wisemen rejoiced with “exceeding great JOY” when they saw the Star that would lead to the Savior! (Matthew 2:10)

* John the Baptist lept “for JOY” in Elisabeth’s womb when she received news of the anticipated arrival of Jesus! (Luke 1:44)

* The angel brought “good tidings of great JOY” to the shepherds on that starry night long ago! (Luke 2:10)

* The man who sold all to buy the field saw JOY to be a benefit of his purchase! (Matthew 13:44)

* The Apostle Paul desired to “finish his course with JOY!” (Acts 20:24)

* Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, endured the cross for the “JOY that was set before Him!” (Heb.12:2)

Truly, it is only in Jesus that we can find JOY! It is in Him that I can calmly delight regardless of my circumstances! I love my Lord! 🙂 I pray that I can ever be found joying in my Jesus!

Leave a Reply

