The Fruit of the Spirit is…

16 Jun

Hey everyone! As you have probably already gathered from the fact that I’m posting, we returned safely last night from our weekend trip South! It was a great trip! Sunday’s services were fabulous! The messages were exactly what I know I needed, and the church as a whole was very responsive as well! The trip also allowed us to spend time with friends, who are really more like extended family, and enjoy some much needed family time too! We had a blast playing pool and Foss ball in the basement of the cabin where we were staying! (The cabin that had absolutely no cell phone reception much less Internet access!) Despite the lack of modern technology, 🙂 I praise the Lord for a wonderful weekend!

This morning, my devotions led me to Galatians chapter 5. Because my theme verse for the summer is Philippians 1:11 and I’ve been struggling with my own selfishness lately, I needed to be reminded of the fruit of the Spirit. These two verses are probably two of the most commonly memorized verses that we memorize as children in Sunday school, but I’ve been challenged to examine exactly how many of these fruits as actually present in my daily life.

If I am going to be “filled with the fruits of righteousness” (Phil. 1:11), I need to spend some time studying out exactly what the Word is referring to in this lengthy list. There are eleven  🙂  nine fruits mentioned here. In my personal study for the next few days, I will seek to study each one of these fruits individually.apple-logo-fruit-salad

 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,

Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.”

 Galatians 5:22-23 

 

But even before studying each fruit, it is vital to understand how we are able to cultivate these fruits in our lives. We must understand that we are completely helpless when it comes to bearing spiritual fruit on our own. We must seek the Savior’s ability if we desire to be “filled” with anything spiritual. Jesus tells us in John 15:5,  “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” In Him, we are capable of bringing forth “MUCH FRUIT!” Yet without Him, we “CAN DO NOTHING!” There is no in between. We can’t even accomplish a little without Him, we can “DO NOTHING!!”

The word “abide”comes from the Greek word “meno” meaning to stay (in a given place, state, relation or expectancy):–abide, continue, dwell, endure, be present, remain, stand, tarry (for). If I desire to bear the fruit of the Spirit, I must “stay” near Him through His Word and through prayer. Neglect of either of these things will weaken any ability to accomplish anything for His glory!

Oh that I would stay near my Savior today so that I can bear spiritual fruit “unto the glory and praise of God!” (Phil. 1:11)

*Check back later tonight for a post on the first fruit listed in Galatians 5:22!*

Leave a Reply

