May this be a Summer of Seeking and Serving!

11 Jun

s_flip-flopsFor the last 180 days, I’ve spent all day every day with 10 of the most wonderful students any teacher could ask for! Today, I had to say good-bye! Along with removing my bulletin boards, clearing my desk, and packing up books, I was busy wondering how I was going to “let go” of “my kids!” It was especially tough to “let go” of my 3 sixth graders that I’ve had the privilege of teaching for 2 years in a row! Because I’ve spent so much time with them, I’ve really gotten attached! 🙂 My first grade student was especially clingy today, not wanting to let me out of her sight! I am so thankful for the relationships built over this past year! I pray that they saw Jesus in me, in a way that would make them desire to seek Him for themselves!

The last ten months have been packed full of so much. Teaching, tutoring, singing, and a million other things have all had their part in the busyness of it all! Each day has been planned out, following the same schedule as the day before, teaching Reading, Language and Math. But as I look ahead to the summer before me that isn’t governed by a specific schedule or plan, there’s a potential of wasting the coming 2 1/2 months. Despite this potential, I desire to overcome the enemies of laziness and lukewarmness (I think I just made up a new word! Forgive my lack of proper English! 🙂 ) in order for it to be a Summer of seeking and service! I am looking forward to having 3 days a week to devote to seeking my Savior! Prayerfully, I’ll have more time in His Word, seeking to know Him better! On the other 2 days, I’ll continue serving through my tutoring, attempting to prepare a few students for success when school resumes in September!

Having more “free time” on my hands will certainly open the door to the temptation of the wasted time I blogged about a few weeks ago! I know how apt I am to procrastinate, putting off until tomorrow what there’s time to accomplish today! How I need Him to give me the spiritual strength and energy to be more effective and efficient this Summer than I ever have before!

This verse has been on my mind today challenging me to make this Summer count for the Gospel’s Sake!

 “Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ,

unto the glory and praise of God.”

Philippians 1:11 

I can choose to allow the Lord to “fill” my Summer with “fruits of righteousness,”or I can let the days slip by without a thought of spiritual things! The latter is the apparent “easy” way out meaning sleeping in instead of rising early to seek Him, watching TV when I could be reading His Word. (Not that either of those are sinful in their rightful place, but hopefully you know what I mean!) I have a choice to make, being available for His use or being busy with my own thing.

Oh that this would be a Summer of Seeking and Serving! The cultivating of these “fruits of righteousness”mentioned in this verse are not so I can merely blog about my accomplishments. (I certainly wouldn’t have much to blog about, if that was the case!) These “fruits of righteousness” are intended to be “unto the glory and praise of God!” They are to bring Him glory! They are to further His Gospel!

What do you see as you look ahead into your Summer? I’m so excited about warmer weather, flip flops, and lightning bugs! I can’t wait for vacations, picnics and other get-togethers that are such wonderful parts of the Summer season, but they can also be invitations for the devil to side track us from spiritual things. Pray with me that what takes place this Summer is all indeed “unto the glory and praise of God!” He’s got great plans, but we must be willing to seek Him long enough to have them revealed! He has many places of service waiting, but we must be willing to deny self and “take up the cross” to follow Him! (Mark 10:21) I don’t want to look back in September wishing I would’ve done things differently! May we be “eyewitnesses of His majesty” (2 Peter 1:16) as we make ourselves available to Him this Summer!

One Response to “May this be a Summer of Seeking and Serving!”

  1. Joe Newsome June 12, 2009 at 5:22 am #

    I haven’t left a comment for a couple of blogs, but I have greatly enjoyed them. I have to leave a comment for this one though. It really touched my heart this morning. The things you wrote about are things we all need to work on. In this time of year when so many oppurtunities arise for recreation, we still need to remember what are true purpose is. Thank you for reminding us and sharing your heart’s desire.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

