He WILL Do It!

6 Jun

It’s 11:36, and I am attempting to start and finish a post in 23 minutes so that I don’t let 3 whole days go by without flowers2_800blogging! (It’s very unlikely that I’ll accomplish that goal, but I can attempt to do so anyway!) It’s terrible that my last post is entitled “Making the Most of Every Minute” yet I couldn’t find a minute in the last few days to post again! (I guess I was right when I said I needed to work on my time management, huh? 🙂 Be patient! Thankfully, God’s not finished with me yet!)

Anyway… I was reading in Ezekiel the other day,  (a book I haven’t spent much time in up to this point) and was so blessed by what God brought out of His Word for me! I’m so guilty of staying in books like Psalms and Proverbs rarely venturing out into books like Ezekiel, Zephaniah or Haggai! (All of the ones whose names are too hard for me to pronounce!) 🙂

I was struggling with the temptation of wanting to ‘take the pen’ and write my own story so that I could (just maybe!) get there a little faster than He has planned! I was struggling with life’s uncertainties and wishing it was all black and white because sometimes I think it would make decisions all whole lot easier if there wasn’t so much gray! But it was just like Him to speak through a passage of Scripture that wouldn’t have normally been in my devotions!

In Ezekiel chapter 36, there’s an awesome picture of what God desires to do with lives yielded to Him! Oh that He would continually make this passage a reality for me!

” Thus saith the Lord GOD; In the day that I shall have cleansed you from all your iniquities I will also cause you to dwell in the cities, and the wastes shall be builded.

 And the desolate land shall be tilled, whereas it lay desolate in the sight of all that passed by.

And they shall say, This land that was desolate is become like the garden of Eden; and the waste and desolate and ruined cities are become fenced, and are inhabited.

Then the heathen that are left round about you shall know that I the LORD build the ruined places, and plant that that was desolate: I the LORD have spoken it, and I WILL DO IT.

Thus saith the Lord GOD; I will yet for this be enquired of by the house of Israel, TO DO IT FOR THEM; I will increase them with men like a flock.

 As the holy flock, as the flock of Jerusalem in her solemn feasts; so shall the waste cities be filled with flocks of men: and they shall know that I am the LORD.”  Ezekiel 36:33-38

Did you get that? He’ll “do it!”:) I don’t have to worry about figuring it out because if anything good comes from the mess I’m so capable of making, it’s definitely going to have to be by His doing! I want the “waste” places of my life to be “builded” and “fenced!” I want to know that I’ve allowed Him to clean up the mess I’ve made and that through it others were able to “know that (He is) the Lord!” I want Him to “do it” so it can FINALLY be done right!

(It’s 11:58…I’m not going to make my 11:59 deadline!)

Another word for “desolate”is devastation, and truly there have been times when my plans have been devastated! My thinking, my sin, and my inability to allow Him to “do it” have kept Him from working the wonders He delights in working! But verse 34 tells me that He still wants to and is able to “till” my desolate places! He wants to give me victory over sins like worry and fear replacing them with peace and faith! He wants to “do it!” I love my Lord! 🙂

One of the greatest benefits of allowing God to till our desolate and wasted lives is that others will notice! Particularly, the Lost! The Lost will notice when we are living in the joy that comes from actually allowing God to work in our lives! Others will see it, and others will be affected! Our testimonies will never be effective until they see a difference in our lives! And oh what a difference when He does it and we leave our opinions and plans out of it!

This passage challenged me to allow Him to “do it!” To loosen my grip on my need to plan out the future when in reality there’s no way of knowing what tomorrow holds! To delight in the fact that I do know the One who holds tomorrow and in the sweet certainty that I can trust His judgement!  He wants to “do it,” but being the Gentleman He is He won’t “do it” until I surrender, allowing Him complete control!

I’m excited about what He’s doing and what He’s going to do! He said He’d “do it” and I have His Word on it! 🙂

“Faithful is He that calleth you, who also WILL DO IT!”

1 Thessalonians 5:24

One Response to “He WILL Do It!”

  1. Joe Newsome June 7, 2009 at 6:59 am #

    Sara, I really needed this post this morning. My future holds a lot of uncertainties and I have the problem of wanting to plan it all out on my own. Thank you for reminding me to just let Him do it, and everything will be alright.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

