The Will of God

30 May

God ‘s will… Have you ever wished it was easier to discern? I know I have! Over the last 4 years since the Lord intervened, changing my plans, there have been many prayers prayed for the purpose seeking the will of God for my life! I’ve often (and I mean often! 🙂 searched the Word for direction and guidance as to where He would have me to be! One of my favorite verses on the topic of His Will is 1 Thessalonians 5:18! It gives me such wonderful insight as to what His Will is for me TODAY!

“In EVERYTHING give thanks: for this is the WILL OF GOD in Christ Jesus concerning you!”

1 Thessalonians 5:18

P1030721

God’s Will for me is to TRUST His perfectness while THANKING Him for it! His Will is that I delight in Him and seek to love Him with all my heart, soul, and might (Deu. 6:5)!

The word “Will” in this verse comes from the Greek word thelema meaning a determination (properly, the thing), i.e. (actively) choice (specially, purpose, decree; abstractly, volition) or (passively) inclination:– desire, pleasure, will. God “desires” above all that I desire Him! No matter where He has me, He takes pleasure in my finding pleasure in HIM!!

My joy is not to be dependent upon where I am along the journey, but it is to be dependent upon my Jesus that is walking alongside me! It is not to be based upon the circumstance but instead on the faithfulness of Christ in the midst of each and everyone!

6 months ago this verse became a daily reality as the Lord set out to teach me how to be JOYFUL even when His Will didn’t exactly match what I had planned for my future. He used this verse (and is currently still using!) to enable me to look at life and His plan for me in a different way!

  “My brethren, count it all JOY when ye fall into divers temptations;  Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” James 1:2-4

Being thankful and joyful in the midst of certain situations and seasons of life isn’t easy when attempting to do so in self! In fact, it’s nearly impossible! However, it’s “the will of God” that we exhibit both qualities! He desires that we “want” or lack nothing on the other side of our trials and tests! Believe it or not, He has a purpose behind allowing us to go through them! His purpose being that we are “perfect” (meaning mature!) and “entire” (meaning whole and complete) in Him!

The word is this verse that really challenged me to be JOYFUL and THANKFUL for what His will entails for me is the word temptations! I never would have thought that one word would have such a huge impact on my outlook for my life and His will for it! The word “temptations” means a putting to proof (by experiment (of good), experience (of evil)! God is allowing each and every circumstance (the good and the not so good) to prove Himself to me and to prove who I really am in Him! He wants to prove Himself strong and faithful! 🙂 He also wants me to prove that I love Him with my life and not just with my lips! He wants me to “JOY in (my) God” (Romans 5:11) learning to lean upon Him and not my own understanding!

His will is clearer than I initially thought! His will can be found within the pages of His Word and in time spent upon my knees! His will is that I’m not complaining about the rain but that I’m finding reasons to be thankful for it! May I look for the flowers that will bloom when the storm passes and perhaps play in the puddles along the way! 🙂

2 Responses to “The Will of God”

  1. Staci Lechliter May 30, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    Sara, you really said it all. It is his will not our own. I really am blessed by this blog. I too have been and tempted in a lot of ways. It is so hard on my own to defeat them and ignore them and do the right thing. With God it so much easier, and I don’t find myself in the same difficult predicaments. I just wanted to say thank you for wonderful blogs and insight that God has given you, you are such a true friend, and truly an inspiration to me. Thankyou.

    Love and Prayers,

    Staci

  2. Orville Ford May 31, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    This has realy hit home this morning. I have had a few bad days trying to deal with all that is going on in our life. But I need to trust in GOD to lead us into the future. I think of that hymn Trust and obey for there is no other way. Thank you for writing these blogs each day. It is somthing I look forward to each morning. May GOD BLESS your faithful walk with HIM.
    Your Friend
    Orville

Leave a Reply

