Oh Be Careful Little Eyes…

27 May

As I debated whether or not to post on this particular topic, I decided that it most certainly wouldn’t be my most popular post. I also decided that I don’t post for popularity’s sake or for others to necessarily agree with my viewpoint, but that I do post that God might get the glory He deserves from my writing and ultimately from my life. So a word of warning before you continue reading, you may or may not be thrilled with what I have to say!

tv-static-0607_thumb

Also, know that I’m NOT saying that what God has convicted me over or led me to set up as standards in my life is what He will do in your life. I have to answer for me, and you have to answer for you! Regardless of what we watch or don’t watch, where we go or don’t go, all of us are living a life for which we will day stand before our Savior and give account for. (Romans 14:12) How I live now, will determine how I’ll feel on Judgement Day when my record is read. Will my life bring joy or sorrow to my Savior? That is the most important question.

Well, I said all of that as a precursor to a conversation I had with a group of 6th graders today. It was that conversation that confirmed a fact that has burdened my heart for some time now, in that the entertainment that we seek and allow our children to seek has strayed so very far away from being God-glorifying in the least bit and the effects of such choices are now so very evident in our lives. As this group of 11 and 12 year olds discussed their favorite television shows, my heart was breaking.

They questioned me, “Miss Johnson, do you watch (SUCH and SUCH)? Although I knew that they watched shows that I’ve never seen and have knowledge of topics that I still have no knowledge of at nearly 22 years old, it burdened me to be experiencing it first hand. I answered, “No, I don’t.” Another posed the same question about a different show. Again my answer, “No, I don’t.” I explained that the etertainment we seek should be God-glorifying in that what we watch with our eyes, ultimately becomes what we think about in our minds and who we become in our actions. They then posed another question, “Then what should we watch?” Unfortunately, I couldn’t even think of 1 show that would be interesting to them and that would be appropriate for them! What a sobering thought…even if our children desired wholesome entertainment, they don’t have very much to choose from. (My dad’s response though humorous is so true.. perhaps they’d be safe from the world’s garbage when watching the Weather Channel?)

It’s a sad day when the favorite show among the pre-teens I was conversing with today is a show whose pilot episode boasted adultery, divorce, and teen pregnancy as it’s focal points. (I searched for a synopsis of it when I got home and it almost brought tears to my eyes!) It’s an even sadder day when those in ministry roles, in parenting roles and those who claim to be servants of our Lord find those very same shows (and others much worse) to be on their own personal list of favorites!

Do we not realize that it’s what goes in that ultimately comes out? Do we not realize that the Lord and Savior that gave His life for ours so that we would’nt be in bondage to such terrible things is grieved to find us seeking entertainment such as this as pleasure? Do we realize that all things are naked and open unto the eyes of Him with whom we have to do? (Heb. 4:13)

I’m afraid that eithier we don’t or that we just don’t care. Sure, we’re thrilled with our salvation while sitting in the church pew, but does it carry over into the choices we make on Sunday evening when we come home and turn on the t.v.? We teach our children the song, “Oh be careful little eyes what you see!” yet we are far from careful when we allow such filth into our living rooms and into our lives! (Sorry, but I get a little fired up about this topic!)

I guess the point of this post is just to vent my discouragement and share my burden about the lack of Christ likeness in our Christian circles! (Doesn’t Christian mean “Christ-like?”) I just desire so badly that Christians would desire to walk worthy of the vocation wherewith they are called.(Eph. 4:1)

I’ll end with this poem that puts the Christian life into perspective,

If Jesus Came to Your House

If Jesus came to your house to spend a day or two 

If he came unexpectedly, I wonder what you’d do. 

Oh, I know you’d give your nicest room to such an honored Guest,

 And all the food you’d serve to Him would be the very best, 

And you keep assuring Him you’re glad to have Him there

 That serving Him in your own home is joy beyond compare.

 

But when you saw Him coming, would you meet Him at the door

 With arms outstretched in welcome to your heavenly Visitor? 

Or would you have to change your clothes before you let Him in?

 Or hide some magazines and put the Bible where they’d been?

 Would you turn off the radio and hope He hadn’t heard? 

And wish you hadn’t uttered that last, loud, hasty word?

 

Would you hide your worldly music and put some hymn books out? 

Could you let Jesus walk right in, or would you rush about? 

And I wonder if the Savior spent a day or two with you, 

Would you go right on doing the things you always do? 

Would you go right on saying the things you always say? 

Would life for you continue as it does from day to day?

Would your family conversation keep up its usual pace? 

And would you find it hard each meal to say a table grace? 

Would you sing the songs you always sing, 

and read the books you read, 

And let him know the things on which your mind and spirit feed?

 Would you take Jesus with you everywhere you’d planned to go?

 Or would you, maybe, change your plans for just a day or so?

 

Would you be glad to have Him meet your very closest friends? 

Or would you hope they’d stay away until His visit ends? 

Would you be glad to have Him stay forever on and on? 

Or would you sigh with great relief when He at last was gone?

 It might be interesting to know the things that you would do?

 If Jesus Christ in person came to spend some time with you.
 ~ Author unknown

 With a broken and burdened heart for my generation and those behind me, I pray that God would open our eyes to the spiritual danger of seeking entertainment not fit for anyone (much less Christians) to watch. May we seek to say with the Psalmist, “I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes,” (Psalm 101:3) realizing that if we “regard iniquity in (our) hearts, the Lord will not hear (us.)” (Psalm 66:18)

4 Responses to “Oh Be Careful Little Eyes…”

  1. Joe Newsome May 27, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    As I read this post, the words of Phil. 4:8 came to mind. If we read the things in that verse we are to be thinking on, and then compare it with what is on the t.v. shows, we would see the difference. And we would also see we should not be watching them. We need to realize that every minute of our life should be God honoring, even the entertainment we seek. Thank you for this post.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

  2. STEVE ROWE May 28, 2009 at 1:57 am #

    we never should say were sorry when we take a position against the worlds ways we must stand up for Jesus no matter who likes it or not people of this world will always be less than you hoped they would be I seen this poem before but good to see it again WE MUST REMAIN THE SALT OF THE EARTH feeling sorry for the unrepented and not sorry for our poistion we take against worldlyness GOD BLESS YOUR poistion with the young people at school and QBC You Got A Friend in PA your brother in christ Steve Rowe

  3. Orville Ford May 28, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    Sara,
    As I read your post it made me think of the song
    your Mom sings on one of her tapes. WHERE ARE
    THE CHILDREN. (hope thats right) We know Satin is stealing them away. I know I worry about my Grandchildren. Keep up the good work.
    Your Friend,
    Orville

  4. Staci Lechliter May 30, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    You are so right. I have a hard time finding something decent to watch. There isn’t much to choose from these days. You have to watch the oldie channel to get decent, good family shows. I strive to keep my children from those kinds of shows. I am thankful God keeps them safe when away from, at least at school and friends homes. They have commented to others that my parents don’t let us watch those shows. I thankful there are other adults like you who are Godly influence’s on our youth, because if we don’t , who will? Thank you for all you do and having such a heart for these children. Keep up the great work you do.

    Love ya,

    Staci

Leave a Reply

