Going when God says “Go!”

26 May

I was both challenged and blessed by the obedience of Obadiah in 1 Kings chapter 18. I don’t know that his role in Elijah’s ministry had ever jumped out at me as it did today! I love God’s word! It has been my strength and joy today! 🙂

“And as Obadiah was in the way, behold, Elijah met him…” 1 Kings 18:longroad7

Obadiah was where God wanted to him to be, and was a profitable part of His plan! The phrase “in the way” reminds me of the search for Isaac’s mate in Genesis 24:27. As Abraham’s servant was searching, he makes a similar statement, ” I being in the way, the Lord led me.” Oh that I would be “in the way” that God would have me to be so that I am available to walk through open doors when He says “Go!” with the certainty that it was indeed He that opened them!

God needed Obadiah to be in the place he was at that specific time in order for him to be used in the meeting of Ahab and Elijah. Perhaps, Ahab would’ve reacted differently had Obadiah not been the one to notify him of Elijah’s arrival. We’ll never know, but I am convinced that God used Obadiah for a great purpose and blessed his obedience.

Obadiah’s story is a story of two-fold obedience. He never would have been “in the way” to meet Elijah if he didn’t first obey Ahab’s command to “Go!” and find provisions to enable them in surviving the drought (v.5) Because of his initial obedience, he was in the right place at the right time!

Secondly, he obeyed Elijah’s request even though it was a frightening one! Obadiah reacted like I would, with fear! He was afraid Ahab would take his life if he told him of Elijah’s coming. In fact he seemed a little shocked at the request, “And now thou sayest, Go tell thy lord, Behold Elijah is here.” (v.11) He’s almost saying, “Do you have any idea what you’re asking me to do???!!! Did I hear you right???” Initially he was not thrilled with the request and his reaction communicated that quite clearly!  However, following his fearful reaction, Obadiah was again obedient! (v. 16) He trusted the man of God enough and the God whom He knew Elijah represented to “Go!” even when he was uncertain of how Ahab would receive the news he was to bear.

Sometimes, all God wants from His children is obedience. He wants us to trust Him enough to “Go” even when we’re uncertain of the response of others.“He knoweth our frame; He remembereth that we are dust” (Psalm 103:14) so He knows we’re apt to react with fear, but He desires us to trust in Him leaning not on our own understanding (Proverbs 3:5)! He’s aware that we will question like Obadiah, ” Are you sure you want me to do this?” but wants to give us the faith to trust His plan and purposes! 🙂 It is His heart’s desire that we will choose obedience.

Future blessing is contingent upon present obedience. When God asks for obedience there’s a reason behind it! After all to “obey is better than sacrifice!” 1 Sam. 15:22 When we neglect to obey, we miss God’s richest blessings. When we fail to hasten when God says “Go,” we waste precious time in which we could be serving Him, carrying out vital parts of His plan!

So may it be said of me that when God said “Go,” I “went” just as Obadiah did (v. 6, v. 16)! Not that it will always be an easy decision, but may I surrender my fear in order to act in faith!

May I be “resolved to follow my Savior” regardless of where He leads being content with the fact that He is leading! Though I can’t see what’s around the bend, may the fact that “He goeth before me” be enough to make me “Go!” (John 10:4)

“I made haste and delayed not to keep thy commandments!” Psalm 119:60

One Response to “Going when God says “Go!””

  1. Roger Dixon May 27, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    By reading your blog. I always that the Lord is
    telling me something each day. I am fnd out
    thur your writings that the distance between
    a problem and a solution is the distance your
    knees and how far they half to fall to each the
    floor, so you and God can just talk it over. If
    we put our God first, we can stand up to anything
    this world throws at us. GOD BLESS
    JUST KEEP BLOGING ON FOR THE LORD

Leave a Reply

