Surely I Know…

23 May

pink_daisiesWhile I was busy having a “Me Day” or rather a “Me Afternoon”, (for those of you who are new to the blog, Me Days are days when I’m looking at life through my eyes instead of His! Days in which I’m pretty grumpy, as a result! Just ask the poor people who are forced to live with me! ) God was preparing to show up and snap me out of my sulking!

As I was lying on my bed this afternoon with tears flowing, my God spoke softly and stilled the pity reigning in my heart. It’s just like Him to be exactly what I need! He spoke with a verse that has brought much comfort over the last few years, but couldn’t have been more perfect today! I hadn’t read Ecclesiastes 8:12 in awhile, but I didn’t even have to open my Bible for my Lord to speak in His still small Voice with the precious words of this promise!

” Though a sinner do evil an hundred times, and his days be prolonged, yet SURELY I KNOW that IT SHALL BE WELL with them that fear God, which fear before Him.”

He spoke with this reminder. He spoke, and it’s as if He was saying, “Did you forget my promise? Why are you crying when I’m still in control?”” He spoke and tenderly turned my attention to Him instead of me.

Sometimes (Ok, Ok, A lot of times!) I get impatient in the waiting. The devil has a way of getting me to look at everyone else and question why I can’t be where they are or have what they have, but thankfully God has a way of recapturing my attention! He has a way of showing me that His will for me is so perfect that the details must be worked out on His time table so that means waiting once in awhile!

 I’ll never forget a saying that was on a church sign shortly after the Lord changed my plans 4 years ago, it  read, “In the waiting, God is working!” I have been reminded of this many many times during my season of waiting, and I know it is so very true. Not only is He working RIGHT NOW to prepare my future for me, He is working on a daily basis to prepare ME for my future! 🙂

I am convinced that though sometimes loneliness wins out and overtakes me, that it is well tonight and “IT SHALL BE WELL” next week, next month and next year regardless of what’s in store because I have a Loving Lord that has a perfect plan! I’m where I am tonight because this is where He wants me, and He has a perfect purpose for this season.

Like Elijah and his journey to Zarephath (See previous post on Waiting 3/18/09), I’m still on my journey. There are days when I wish I could just turn around and go back to the Brook Cherith, but it’s then that He must remind me that Zarephath is waiting! My God has good things in store, and I don’t want to miss a thing! I’m sure there will be some Me Days along the way, but I have Jesus to bring  joy to the journey and peace in the pain! I have that still small Voice to sweetly speak, dry the tears, and assure me that “IT SHALL BE WELL!”

2 Responses to “Surely I Know…”

  1. Joe Newsome May 24, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    Every one of us, if we would be honest, have our own “me days” as you call them. Right after his great victory over the prophets of baal, Elijah himself is found in a cave crying out for God to take his life. He thought he was all alone, but God showed him different. God spoke to him in a still small voice, much like He did to you. I am so glad that I serve a God that does not change. Thank you for always sharing your heart.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

  2. Staci Lechliter May 25, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    I know what you are saying. I have me days too. There are some days I wallow in self pity for myself, forgetting what the Great Lord our God has done for me. I forget that he is still in control. He then too reminds me. Thank the Lord for loving me so much to put up with my whining sometimes. I am glad to hear that I am not the only one that has those days, and that there is wonderful God above who understands and is there to pick us up and let us know it will be ok. He is in control and we are just where he wants us at this time.. It is hard to understand why we are where we are at and what the reasoning, but he always has a purpose for everything. He has a great plan for each of our lives. I have had some hard times in my past, I also wondered why me lord why am I experiencing these feelings of sadness and confusion? He is always wise and good to let me know in his time, that it is all part of his great plan. He is also allowing me to grow and learn what he has in store for me later.

    I often pray that he would give me more understanding, then maybe I wouldn’t have so many of these poor me days as I like to call them. But, if this is what God has in his plan and then I will learn to accept his teaching, even if it seems to bring me down sometimes. In the end I am so grateful for what the lord teaches me. I always learn a wonderful lesson. Especially, that he is always there and he will never leave me or forsake me.

    I know how you feel sometimes, that others around you have a life or have things easier, and you ask yourself why do they have these things and I am struggling? I often ask God why do I have Lupus, why do I have to endure these pains some days? When others seem to go on their merry life without a care. I get frustrated, and I ask God to help me to understand? It is hard sometimes to wait for an answer. But, you know, that in the long run, God is humbling me. I know that he is keeping me humble. -Thank you for your expressing your feelings and how things are going. It is such a blessing to me to know that they are other christian friends that go through the same days that I do sometimes.

    Love ya,
    Have a wonderful day,
    Staci

Leave a Reply

