Seeking the Savior Before Service

21 May

 

foldedhands

I am so thankful for the conviction of the Holy Spirit even when it’s not fun to receive! As Hebrews 12:11 tells us “…no chastisement for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: but  nevertheless afterward yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby!” God definitely knows what’s best for us even when it hurts! I was both convicted and challenged by the message Wednesday night on prayer. (You know those messages when you have to say “Ouch!” and there’s no denying that the Lord sent the message for none other than, YOU!) Unfortunately, I had to sing the old song “It’s me, It’s me, Oh Lord, standing in the need of prayer, not my brother, not my sister, but it’s me, Oh Lord, standing in the need of prayer!” The message and the recent season of life in which I’m in have made me to evaluate where I am and where I’m headed, spiritually speaking.

The account of Mary and Martha has been on my mind all day challenging me to changes in my spiritual walk. The Lord has been driving an all important point home for me. My service is worth NOTHING if I haven’t sought my Savior first. I might appear to be doing what’s good, but Jesus had a different point of viewpoint. He said that Mary had “choosen that good part” (Luke 10:42) when she choose to seek before serving. This account is only 5 verses long, but it gives an incredible picture of what is truly valuable in God’s eyes.

Verse 39 speaks volumes of Mary and her heart for knowing her Lord, “…Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and HEARD his word.” The word “heard” means ‘to give audience.’ Mary was focused on one thing, being an audience for her Lord, ready to receive the words He would speak.

It wasn’t that Martha’s heart for service wasn’t a good thing, because it’s obvious that service is vital to our Christian growth. However, seeking must come FIRST before our service will be effective. As a result of Martha’s failure to seek, her service was hindered. Verse 40 tells us much about Lazarus’ other sister in that “…Martha was CUMBERED about much serving…”The word “cumbered” literally means ‘to drag all around, to distract with care.’ Though Martha had good intentions, they fell short becoming more of a hindrance than a help. Her service before seeking brought a service in self which affected the attitude in which she served in a negative way.

Regretfully, it’s all too easy to let service for the Lord come before truly seeking Him. Sometimes the demands of ministry keep us from really knowing the Master that called us to service in the first place, and as a result our service becomes of no effect.

The busyness of life can all too quickly keep us from prayer and study, but we see in Mary, a clear picture of what provides us with a heart for service. If we desire to accomplish anything, we must do so with a knowledge and love for our Lord that is renewed on a daily basis by spending time at His feet.

The obvious difference in my attitude and what can be accomplished when I’ve sought first is amazing to me. There are stark differences between a day in which I’ve sought first and a day in which I try to serve without seeking. There’s only one I end up serving if I don’t seek Him first and that’s self!

May my Lord “Turn my eyes upon Him” that I might be a profitable servant. May service for the Savior not get in the way of seeking Him, FIRST!

(By the way, we see Mary serving in a wonderful way later in the account of her anointing of the Savior!) (Mark 14:3-9)

One Response to “Seeking the Savior Before Service”

  1. Joe Newsome May 22, 2009 at 6:23 am #

    We heard a message on prayer Wednesday night also. It was called a person of prayer. One of the main points of the message was that if we are to be a person of prayer we must be early risers. That part I have tried to do, but found in the message I was falling short of what was needed. The preacher said we need to get up when God wakes us up. How many times I have woke up early and just turned over and went back to sleep instead of taking advantage of that time to spend it with God.

    I was definitly challenged by the rest of the message. How Daniel and others prayed three times a day. How prayer should be the first thing that comes to mind in any situation.

    In the days we are living we need to take advantage of every minute we can spend with our Lord. Thank you for always sharing your heart with us.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

