Empty Hands

18 May

 

open-handsI have been singing this old hymn all day! Ever since we sang ‘Rock of Ages’ at the funeral, I have been pondering this line, ‘In my hands no price I bring. Simply to Thy cross I cling!’

I am so aware tonight of my total dependence upon God. I am so very weak, but He is STRONG! I am full of doubt, but He is FAITHFUL! I have absolutely NOTHING to offer Him in self, but He has EVERYTHING! 🙂

When I approach the Throne of Grace, I must come empty-handed for I have no righteousness of my own. Our righteousness is as ” filthy rags” (Isaiah 64:6 ) We certainly don’t deserve to be in the Presence of a Holy and Righteous God! But there’s good news!! We can come clinging to the Cross and Christ’s accomplished work!

The lines that precede this line are equally as wonderful! They make the point clear that we cannot attain salvation apart from faith in Jesus Christ and further more we cannot accomplish anything in His Service apart from Him either!

“Could my tears forever flow, Could my zeal no languor know, These for sin could not atone Thou must save and Thou alone!”

Even if I spent forever serving,  it would never be enough! Even if I were striving to be ‘good enough,’  it would never work! He must save, and He alone! I could plant and water, but it is in vain if He doesn’t give the increase! (1 Cor. 3:7)

“Rock of Ages, cleft for me! Let me hide myself in Thee!”  If we desire to accomplish anything for Jesus, we must hide in Him and rely upon His Sufficiency!

Thanks again for your prayers while we traveled! We are safely home! 🙂

3 Responses to “Empty Hands”

  1. Joe Newsome May 19, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    I am so thankful for God’s simple plan of salvation. Being the type of people we are, if we had anything to do with our salvation, we would be bragging all the time. But God’s plan leaves no room for that. When we get to Heaven all we will be able to do is praise the only One that is worthy. Thank you for this blog.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

  2. Emily February 2, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    I am so encouraged by this blog! I stumbled upon it while searching for a picture of “open hands” in google. I look forward to reading more! God is so great. I stand in awe of how He works. Thank you for posting a picture of open hands.

  3. Emily February 2, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    I am so encouraged by this blog! I stumbled upon it while I was searching for a picture of “open hands” in google. It is so encouraging to see how God works through other people. I’m so grateful that I found this and I am looking forward to reading more. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

