He Leadeth Me! :)

17 May

GreatGrannysandLyssaDec08-Jan09 025

Hey everyone! It’s Sunday night and though I was incredibly excited to find Internet access here at the cabin I am just now having an opportunity to post!

It has been a busy yet blessed weekend. The best word to describe it would probably be ‘bittersweet.’ It has been both bitter in saying my final goodbye to Great Granny but sweet in that God’s presence has been real the entire time.  I think it’s settling in that an entire season of my life has come to a close as we wrap up our last trip to West Jefferson for the purpose of Great Granny! Normally we spend the majority of our time at Great Granny’s house and though we did that this time it certainly wasn’t the same. The empty spot on the couch and the absence of that sweet Southern voice was certainly that, empty and absent! How I miss her already, but I love how His comfort can bring joy to the hardest of times! The pain is real, but my God is present!

But being just like Him, He has been God and worked even this weekend of goodbyes to the “futherance of the Gospel!” (Phil. 1:12) We had the precious privilege of being a part of two wonderful services today! It was such a joy to be with friends that are faithfully serving our Lord here in this area and beyond.

This morning, we were blessed to sing in a church that one of our closest preacher friend’s pastors. What a blessing to worship with the friends who are now more like family! It’s amazing to me that you can be 500 miles from home and still feel at home!

Tonight, we attended the final service of a Missions Conference at a church in Wilkesboro, NC! Before the evening service, the women from a Spanish church that this church established in the county, fixed an authentic Spanish meal of quesadillas, tostados, and tres leche cake for dessert! I was so blessed by their servants hearts! Upon our arrival they wanted us to find our seats and await their serving us! These are people we had never met!!! These are people who waited until everyone else had been fed before they sat down to eat themselves. What a lesson in service!! How selfish I am, and how much I need God to change my heart! The meal was wonderful and so was the service to follow.

One of the missionaries brought a message with an incredible challenge from Psalm 142 entitled “Who Cares?” the emphasis of course being soul winning and the supporting of missions! How I need to care for the lost and dying in my life, care enough to tell them about the One who cared enough to die for them! 

I am so thankful that God allowed us to be down here at the perfect time to have a part in the conference! The missionary who invited us to come had been praying that we could come to his home/sending church for some time, and God worked it out tonight!

This verse has been on my heart today and reminds me of God’s perfectly worked plan.

“Thus saith the Lord, thy Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel; I am the Lord thy God which teacheth thee to profit, which leadeth thee by the way that thou shouldest go.” Isaiah 48:17

I sing with the hymn writer tonight, “He leadeth me, Oh blessed thought!” It is surely a blessed thought to think that I can follow the leading of my Lord. His leading is a leading that will never lead us astray! 🙂 He teaches us to profit!!! The word profit means “to be valuable (objectively: useful, subjectively: benefited):–X at all, set forward, can do good, (be, have) profit, (able).” He leads us in ways that are “valuable” for the upbuilding of His Kingdom!

 I am thankful that He can turn a funeral into an opportunity to further the Gospel! May I trust His leading and follow faithfully! 🙂

Pray again for traveling mercies once again as we head out in the morning for home! What a comfort to know God’s people are praying!

*The picture posted is of the road that runs in front of my Great Granny’s house! I love the mountains of NC!*

Leave a Reply

