Abundantly (Again!)

14 May

flowersandbirds

  “Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,” Ephesians 3:20

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

God just keeps bringing up the word “abundantly” in my study and thinking! He definitely knows me and how often I need reminding of the same truth in order for it to sink in! 🙂

One of my all time favorite verses is Ephesians 3:20. It’s the verse that started it all. The verse that He captured my heart with nearly 4 years ago, and the verse that challenged me to begin seeking Him on a daily basis. It’s this verse that has been on my mind all evening!

The same God that called me to a higher standard, a deeper relationship, and a constant companionship with Him in July 2005 is the same God who is still calling me tonight! He still desires to work in an abundant way! He still desires me to surrender my plans for His! He still longs for me to let go of my dreams for His perfectly scripted plan!

This verse has truly become REALITY for me. For the past 4 years, He has been working “EXCEEDING ABUNDANTLY ABOVE ALL” that I could ever ask or think! It’s amazing to me that everything I had wanted to happen or planned to happened hasn’t yet things that are so much better have! Though my plans for my future would never have included half of what’s present in my life today, life is so VERY GOOD! God is so very good! 🙂

Of course, I had to do a word study of the word “abundantly,” and of course I was so blessed by what I discovered. The Greek word for “abundantly” perissos means (in the sense of beyond); superabundant (in quantity) or superior (in quality); by implication, excessive; exceeding abundantly above, more abundantly, advantage, exceedingly, very highly, beyond measure, more, superfluous, vehement(-ly).

God’s plan for our lives is superior in quality! He wants us to live in excess! Spiritual excess, that is. I’m not saying we’ll have millions in the bank or a brand new car in the driveway! In fact it’s quite the contrary! He wants us to find our complete satisfaction in Him. He tells us that “…whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.” (Matthew 16:25) It’s only when we surrender that we are truly living the abundant life He not only desires to give us but DIED to give us! He didn’t die so we would warm a church pew 3 times a week and only read His word along with the Preacher on Sunday morning. He didn’t die so we would merely accept His atoning work for salvation while failing to seek to truly know Him. Yes, He died to give us eternal life in Heaven, but also to give us life “MORE ABUNDANTLY” (John 10:10) while we’re waiting for Eternity to begin!

However denying the plans and desires of self which aren’t necessarily sinful just not God’s best for our lives is painful! It’s something that must be done persistently. The Apostle Paul told us that he had to “die DAILY!” (1 Cor. 15:31)  When Jesus asks us to “deny” ourselves and take up  our cross to follow Him, He is asking for COMPLETE control! The word “deny” means to disown! I don’t know about you, but I struggle with the need to be in control, to know just where I’m going, when I’m going to get there, and how the journey will be along the way. Jesus is asking me to surrender my questions and trust Him!

My MANY “me days” are proof that just because I was satified and joyful in my God and His plan for me yesterday doesn’t mean I will be today. If I desire to delight in Him, I must seek to do so on a daily basis. Paul tells of  us in Romans  chapter 7 verses 13-25 that there’s a constant battle between the carnal and the spiritual. I realize along with Paul that “in me (that is in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.” (Rom. 7:18-19) I cannot and will not surrender my life’s story to Him in self. I must be a work of His Holy Spirit.

May I trust the God who called me to know Him nearly 4 years ago (well, He had been calling for years prior, it just wasn’t until then that I finally heeded!) to do  “EXCEEDING ABUNDANTLY ABOVE ALL THAT (I) ASK OR THINK” with a life surrendered to Him!  

I guess I should go considering it’s almost midnight! Please pray for traveling mercies as we head to North Carolina for the funeral. We leave in approximately 5 hours, and I have yet to pack! Also pray that those unsaved will hear and respond to the Gospel at the service! I’m not sure I’ll have Internet access on the trip, but if not I’ll post as soon as we return on Monday night! May God’s sweet Presence fill your weekend! Thanks for praying!

Leave a Reply

