He’s MY God!

30 Apr

” And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God.” John 20:28

nail-scarred-hands 

I love the possessive pronouns of God’s Word! Just as He was Thomas’ God, He’s also MY God! The pronoun “my” signifies that the object belongs to me! God is MY God! The God of Heaven has made Himself available to me! 🙂 Possessive pronouns show ownership and that brings such JOY to my heart! Sin had separated me from the Savior, but because of His Sacrifice, I can call Him MY God!

This thought has been on my mind since last night, and it was confirmed today while I was reading in Nehemiah! Nehemiah realized that any success that came his way while rebuilding the wall or even before that when approaching the King was because of HIS God! He says, “And the king granted me, according to the good hand of MY God upon me!” (Nehemiah 2:8) Without the preparation of the king’s heart by Nehemiah’s God (Prov. 21:1), Nehemiah wouldn’t have even received the permission he needed to return to Jerusalem! Nehemiah’s plan to return and rebuild the wall was prospered ONLY by HIS God! What a blessed thought! The same God that enabled Nehemiah to accomplish His work is the same God that will enable me!! 🙂

When God’s Hand is upon our lives working that which is good (Psalm 85:12), and we grasp the fact that He is OUR God, we will then desire to tell others both with our lips and our lives! Just a few verses later, Nehemiah reminds us and those with him of where or rather in Whom his ability lies! He says in verse 18, “Then I told them of the hand of MY God which was GOOD upon me…!” 🙂

Nehemiah was able to withstand the constant opposition of Sannballt and Tobiah, because HIS God enabled Him to do so! Only reading through chapter 4, they have already opposed His work 5 times!!! In self, we would stop after the slightest hint of resistance, but Nehemiah turned to HIS God! Chapter 4 verse 8 tells us that they “conspired all of them together to come and to fight against Jerusalem, and to hinder it.” But, guess Who Nehemiah turned to? Verse 9 gives his response, “NEVERTHELESS, we made our prayer unto OUR GOD, and set a watch against them day and night, because of them.”

We can face whatever life brings because the nail-scarred hands of Jesus are holding and helping us! I’m so thankful that I have “MY God” on MY side !!! Surely His hands are  “GOOD upon me!” 🙂

  “The LORD is on MY side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?” Psalms 118:6

Leave a Reply

