Thinking…

28 Apr

“The thoughts of the diligent tend only to plenteousness…” Proverbs 21:5

thoughtbubble

In this “in-between” season of my life, it’s way too easy to waste valuable time not only in my actions but also in my thinking. Time spent dwelling on the past or longing for the future doesn’t tend to plenteousness, and believe me I’ve spent a lot of time doing both! But, I must learn to redeem today, even in my thoughts!

Sometimes the longing to be at a certain point, acheive a certain goal, accomplish a certain task is overwhelming, and it often takes preeminence in my thoughts. There are days when the longing for the Lord to bring that godly man who is genuine in his desire to live for Him into my life so that we may serve Him together is so strong that I miss out on what I have in Christ TODAY! After all my Lord tells me in Isaiah 54:5 that,  “(my) Maker is (my) husband; the LORD of hosts is his name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called.” He also promises to hold my hand (Isaiah 41:13) and to “perfect that which concerneth me” (Psalm 138:8)! I must think on these things, if I am to enjoy the blessings He has given me!

The effective Christian life demands diligence! This verse tells us that the thoughts of a diligent person will “tend only to plenteousness.” The Hebrew word for plenteousness means “gain, preeminence, profit.” When I truly think about that which I’m thinking about, have my thoughts led to actions that have brought spiritual profit to my life?

Colossians 1:18 challenges us to give Christ first place in our lives, “…That in ALL things he might have the preeminence.”  “ALL” a tiny 3 letter word with a huge meaning! That word all includes our thoughts in addition to our actions!

Spending time in His Word is the best way to ensure that our thoughts are tending only to plenteousness. Just as thinking about the past or even the future will result in sulking and ultimately wasted time, thinking about my Savior and His Word will most likely lead to speaking and living accordingly.

May my thoughts tend to plenteousness today for the cause of Christ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

