3 inches

27 Apr

ruler

I didn’t know what I challenge it would be when I began this blog to decide what to post! The Lord uses so many Scriptures to convict, challenge and change me everyday that it’s a struggle to squeeze them all into one post! I love my Lord, and I love His Precious Word! 🙂

A few years ago when preparing to speak at a Ladies Conference, the Lord led me to these two verses! They have made an eternal impact on me so I wanted to share them with you!

“LORD, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is; that I may know how frail I am. 

Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.”     Psalms 39:4-5 

My first response to these verses was “What is a handbreadth?”

After looking up “handbreadth” in my Strong’s concordance, I was amazed! The Hebrew word for handbreadth is tephach meaning “a spread of the fingers, literally 3 inches.” In Bible times, a handbreadth was a unit of measurement. If you measure the length of your hand from pointer finger to pinkie finger, you will find that it is approximately3 inches. (By the way, everyone’s will measure approx. 3 inches! I’ve tried it with 1st graders and adults! It really works!) 🙂 So God has given us a reminder as to how short our time is here on earth right in the palm of our hands!

In verse 5, David says that our lifespan could be compared to the small length of 3 inches! How tiny 3 inches is in comparison to eternity! I was so challenged by this! At nearly 22, how much of my life has already passed when I look at it in light of 3 inches! This incredible verse is a reminder of how I need to use every single second of everyday to make an impact on this world for the Gospel’s sake!

Every morning, we have a choice between living for Christ and living for self. The latter seems easier with much less sacrifice than the first to the flesh. However, choosing the first is the only way to make a difference and leave a legacy of loving our Lord with our lives.

I began typing this post before we went to church tonight and upon arriving home we received a call that brought these verses to even more of a reality. My Great-Uncle Isaac (my Great-Grandfather’s youngest brother, the tenth child of ten boys!) went to His Eternal Home today unexpectedly. He wasn’t sick nor had he been sick in any regard lately so his passing has taken all of us by surprise. This is but another reminder of how short our time here on Earth is! What a challenge to live for God in the moment we’ve been given! Though my heart is heavy when I think about his absence from this life, I am so thankful that He left a legacy of loving and living for His Lord and is now present with HIM! (Please pray for my Aunt Lois and his children in the tough days ahead.)

The Bible also gives us another measurement by which to measure our lives,  “The days of our years are threescore years and ten; and if by reason of strength they be fourscore years, yet is their strength labour and sorrow; for it is soon cut off, and we fly away.” Psalm 90:10 Threescore years and ten… 70 years is all we are promised and even that in light of Eternity is but a small fraction of time.

The Psalmist’s heart’s cry was that God would make him to “know the measure of his days.”He desired to understand the brevity of life in order to live the time he had been given to it’s fullest extent. We were created for God’s glory, and we miss out on so very much when we settle for living in self. In Isaiah 42:8  God says, “I am the LORD: that is my name: and my glory will I not give to another…” He will get His glory in one way or another. After all if we as His people are silent, won’t the rocks cry out in praise? We don’t deserve to be given the opportunity to live for God, yet He has given it to us and delights in us when we do! He’ll get His glory somehow, wouldn’t you rather Him receive it through you?

Will we use every inch for His glory? Or will we waste the 3 inches we’ve been blessed with?

The choice is ours.

~ Oh, Lord make me to know the measure of my days that I might bring you glory! Thank you for the godly example I had in Uncle Isaac and for the reminder of life’s true purpose, to live for Thee.~

” Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.” James 4:14

One Response to “3 inches”

  1. Joe Newsome April 28, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    Sara, thank you for this reminder of just how short our life really is. I wish I could have back all the time I have wasted in my life. I know that can’t happen, so I want to use the time I have left more wisely.

    We will be praying for Lois.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

