It is Well

24 Apr

itiswellwithmysoul-l

 

God used the words to this old hymn to speak to me in a huge way tonight! Every verse made a connection with Scripture and assured me of His perfectness and His precious presence in my life!

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

“Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, it is well, it is well with my soul” This line immediately brought Ecc. 8:12 to mind, ” Though a sinner do evil a hundred times and his days be prolonged, YET SURELY I KNOW that IT SHALL BE WELL with them that fear God, which fear before Him.” Regardless of what we are going through, we have His word that “IT SHALL BE WELL” with us in the end, so therefore we can sing “IT IS WELL” while in the midst of it because we have this promise to depend on! 🙂

 
Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
let this blest assurance control,
that Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
and hath shed his own blood for my soul.
 

“That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate!” This line brought Psalm 8 to my mind! “What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visiteth him?” (v. 4) I am indeed helpless and hopeless without Christ! The fact that He has regarded me in my helpless estate makes it WELL with my soul!

“And shed His own blood for my soul” Not only did He regard me, but He REDEEMED me! He shed His life’s blood for MY soul! As a result of His atoning work at Calvary, it is now WELL for my once sin-sick soul!

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul! 

“My sin, NOT in part but the WHOLE..!” I think of Isaiah 43:25, “I, even I, am He that blotteth out thy transgressions for my own sake, and will NOT remember thy sins!” Not only are my sins forgiven, but they are also FORGOTTEN! And it’s not just the “little” ones that weren’t “so bad” that He blots out and forgets, its ALL of them! Regardless of the weight that we, as humans, put on sin, ALL sin is just that SIN! There are no “little” ones or “more serious ones” in God’s eyes. All sins grieves His heart and puts distance between us and the Savior, but IT IS WELL tonight because we don’t have to bear them any more! To our fleshly hearts, certain sins seem to burden us in a greater way than others, but we can be relieved of our burden because they have all been nailed to the cross! 🙂

And, Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
the clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
the trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
even so, it is well with my soul. 

“When my faith shall be sight!” As Christians, our entire existence and purpose in life is based upon SomeOne we have never  seen physically. We look and live through the eye of faith! I thought of 2 Corinthians 5:7, “For we walk by faith not by sight” In this verse, the verb walk is present tense. Right now, we serve because we have witnessed His glory with our hearts. Oh, but one day our faith shall be sight, and we shall see Him with our eyes! 🙂

“The trump shall resound, and the Lord will descend” This line brought 1 Corinthians 15: 52 to mind. “In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: for the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed!” I can almost hear the trumpet! What an incredible promise! I can sing “IT IS WELL” because I know He’s coming back for me one day! 🙂

I pray the words to this old hymn have blessed you in the way that they blessed me tonight! Tonight, regardless of  your lot in life, you too can sing “IT IS WELL!” because we have His Word to depend on! 🙂

*You will also be blessed by the history behind the writing of “It is Well.” It is an incredible story of God’s Presence in the middle of intense pain. To read this story, visit http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/i/t/i/itiswell.htm*

2 Responses to “It is Well”

  1. Pastor Hodge April 25, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    Sara,

    Praise the Lord for the Old Hymns of Faith!

    Your words are a great encouragement, you are a blessing!

    Pastor Hodge

  2. Joe Newsome April 25, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    This song has always been a blessing to me and of course, so are you.

    LOVE you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

