Seeing the Savior in the midst of the Storm

6 Apr

boatonastormysea

It seems my posts have a reoccurring theme lately, but all in all the theme is always an ALL SUFFICIENT Savior! I heard part of a message on the radio yesterday that sparked this thought in my heart.

Often when in the midst of a stormy season in our lives, our hearts will cry with David,“Oh that I had wings like a dove! For then I would fly away, and be at rest. Lo, then would I wander far off, and remain in the wilderness. Selah I would hasten my escape from the windy storm and tempest.” Psalm 55:4-8

I want to escape the storm, but the challenge for me today has been to seek to see my Savior in the midst of it!

I think of the disciples on the stormy sea of Galilee as their boat rocked from the boisterous waves and howling winds. It can be sure that they desired to escape it! The Bible says that they “…had rowed above five and twenty or thirty furlongs…” John 6:19  Thirty furlongs  is almost 4 miles!! I’m sure they were ready for a Savior after rowing for that long to no avail. Verse 21 says that they “willingly received him into the ship!” 

I can only assume that their first choice would have been for the storm to subside, but Jesus had a better idea! He wanted them to see Him in the midst of the storm! It’s very easy to be sidetracked by the “great wind(s) that (blow)”  John 6:18 and miss the Presence of the Savior when the Storm is at it’s peak. The fear is real and the worry of how long it will last is prevalent, but if we’ll look closely we will see our Savior in the midst of the Storm! 🙂

So when my flesh desires to escape the windy storm and tempest, may it be my reminder to seek to see my Savior! Thankfully I’ll always find Him walking on the Sea! 🙂

One Response to “Seeing the Savior in the midst of the Storm”

  1. Joe Newsome April 10, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Sara, it seems like satan is on the attack now more than ever and we all need constant reminders of the faithfullness of our God. If it seems like your posts have a recurring theme, it is to help all of us in our daily walk. To remind us that God said He would never leave us or forsake us. Thank you again for being so faithful and true to Him.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

