Why?

4 Apr

This poem was originally going to be a part of my very first post, but here it is over a month later! It seems that it fits today much better than it fit at the end of February though!

question-mark

Today, my heart’s cry has been the question, “Why?” As I pondered recent events and a situation in my life, things given and things taken away, my response was the common human response “Why, Lord? I don’t understand why?” But as I was visiting my Granny (one of my most favorite people in the world!) tonight  I read this poem once again so I wanted to post it with all of you! It has helped to face the million “Whys?” that weigh so heavily on my heart.

‘ I lay my “Whys?” before Your Cross in worship kneeling,

my mind too numb for thought, my heart beyond all feeling.

And worshiping, realize that I in knowing YOU

don’t need a “Why?” ‘

~Ruth Bell Graham

It’s in trusting God’s infinite wisdom that the painful question of “Why?” finds a place to rest. It’s in God’s peace that the pain can be turned into purpose even when it really hurts! It is incredibly hard to worship when the resounding question of “Why?” is pressing heavily on your heart bringing such pain, but it is in worship only that our questions will be answered through a closer relationship with the Answer, Himself!

One of my favorite Scriptures over the last 4 years has been Colossians 2:10, “And ye are COMPLETE in HIM…” and my Faithful Creator brought me comfort this morning by bringing this verse into my devotions. Charles Spurgeon’s morning devotion began like this  “Mourning Christian! Why weepest thou?… Look to thy Perfect Lord, and remember, thou art COMPLETE in HIM…”

I am so thankful for the exceeding great and precious promises of God. He promises comfort under the crushing weight of painful circumstances. Our human side will still question and may never understand the “Why?” but we can draw spiritual strength to face the dark valleys we must walk through. Every question we could ever ask can be answered in Jesus Christ.

Maybe you are questioning “Why?” in regards to your current circumstances, but may you find comfort in our God, the God of ALL comfort. 2 Cor. 1:3

One Response to “Why?”

  1. Matthew Hodge April 6, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    Sara,

    I finally found your blog! I got the address wrong ten times before I finally got it right! I just wanted you to know that not only do I appreciate this poem, but I appreciate your blog. In life we are always going to be faced with circumstances that we do not understand. It is often during these times that God teaches us the greatest lessons we will ever learn on our journey here on earth. Job said in Job 23:10 “But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” Thank you for your blog; it is a blessing to me.

    Your Friend,
    Matthew

Leave a comment