Seek ye FIRST

30 Mar

 

openbible

Today was one of those days that because of a few extra pushes of the snooze button, the entire day was rushed and I neglected that which is most important. I have learned that the time spent with my Savior before the day begins is of utmost importance if I am going to be of any profit whatsoever. We cannot serve effectively unless we have previously spent time seeking.

  But seek ye FIRST the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

Matthew 6:33

The all too familiar verse  is all too often one that is memorized but not practiced. The day that followed the rushed morning was testimony to how different a day which I kneel for a quick prayer before diving into the day’s duties is from one in which I spend time in His Word before I set out to do His work.

Don’t get me wrong, maybe you prefer studying before bed or have another time during the day which you have set aside for study and prayer, but in my life if it’s not done FIRST it’s far more likely that the day will have passed before I realize I’ve missed my time with the Master!

Neglecting our private times with God doesn’t have to mean we engage in sinful behavior in the day following, but it does mean we are much more apt to be serving in self. We cannot effectively serve the Savior until we have sought Him FIRST! In ourselves we are carnally minded and Romans 8:6 tells us that to be carnally minded is death. Jesus didn’t quicken us so we could be dead servants (Dead people can’t serve!!!), and He has given us clear instruction as to how we can be servants full of the abundant life He desires to give. He told us that He is the way, the truth, and the LIFE! So how else can we be alive in Him save seeking Him through time in His Word?

Even an incredible servant like Paul knew that He couldn’t serve effectively in self. Romans chapter 7  he tells us:

 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.

Romans 7:18-19 

Nothing good is found in our feeble attempts at service. We must FIRST seek our Sufficient Savior for His Strength if we are to accomplish anything!

Though we may be working  in Christian service, we are but going through the motions if we have failed to seek for the right motive from Him, FIRST!

I have been blessed with the privilege of hearing this old hymn a few times this weekend and it’s words echo my heart’s cry and also seem fitting for this post!

“Sing them over again to me, wonderful words of life,
Let me more of their beauty see, wonderful words of life;
Words of life and beauty teach me faith and duty.

Beautiful words, wonderful words, wonderful words of life,
Beautiful words, wonderful words, wonderful words of life.

Christ, the blessèd One, gives to all wonderful words of life;
Sinner, list to the loving call, wonderful words of life;
All so freely given, wooing us to heaven.

Sweetly echo the Gospel call, wonderful words of life;
Offer pardon and peace to all, wonderful words of life;
Jesus, only Savior, sanctify us forever.”

His”wonderful words of life” are just that LIFE for souls that are otherwise life-less! SEEK
 HIM FIRST TODAY!

2 Responses to “Seek ye FIRST”

  1. STEVE ROWE March 31, 2009 at 12:38 am #

    WOW the wonderful words of gods word yes was good to hear the wonderful words of life again I seen some good encouragement tonight when reading these blogs thanks for all you do LORD BLESS you got a friend in pennsylvania brother Steve Rowe

  2. Joe Newsome April 1, 2009 at 6:49 am #

    It truly is amazing how much difference a day can be by spending real time with the Lord. I wish all of God’s children would learn this truth. Thank you again for a heart touchng blog.

    LOVE you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

